Lead poisoning and the City of Detroit

The United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) committed to the goal of eliminating blood lead levels of greater than 10 micrograms of lead per deciliter of blood (10 µg/dl) by 2020 and recommends public health actions at levels above 5µg/dl (see the CDC Lead Home Page). While lead poisoning has few physical symptoms, it can result in learning and behavioral disabilities. Children between the ages of six months and 3 years are at the greatest risk because they have a high degree of exposure to lead in household dust due to normal hand-to-mouth activity. Their developing nervous system is at heightened vulnerability to lead toxicity.

This chart shows the number of children (under 6 years old) newly identified with blood lead levels at or above 10 µg/dl over the past 14 years. This chart demonstrates a mostly steady decline in lead poisoning cases over the past 14 years. The small spike in 2001 and 2002 can be attributed to a new Medicaid policy enacted that required testing of blood lead levels among children considered to be at a high risk for lead poisoning. In 1998 9.7 percent (4,846 children) of children under the age of 6 in Detroit had blood lead levels at or above 10 µg/dl; in 2001 that decreased to 5.5 percent (3,236). High risks of lead poisoning can be typically be attributed to areas with lower income housing and homes that were built before 1978. Medicaid considers all children living in the City of Detroit to be at high risk for lead poisoning.

This map shows the locations of lead poisoning cases for children under 6 that were identified in Detroit it 2011. The green dots represent residences of children with blood lead levels between 10 to 19 µg/dL and the red dots are more severe  lead poisoning cases (20 to 99 µg/dL). Lead poisoning cases were recorded throughout most of Detroit, though there was a concentration in the center of the city (older housing) and on its East side.

The above map shows the number of lead poisoning incidences per address/home in the City of Detroit. The yellow dots show that there are 4,610 homes in the city with two occurrences per home; these are the most frequent. However, the blue dots, which show  three to five or six to nine occurrences per home, cover more of the map because of the higher number of people affected. There was one home in the southwest portion of the city that had 17 lead poisoning cases, according to the map.

The above chart shows the number of Michigan children under the age of 6 whose blood lead levels were tested over the past 14 years. The steady increase in the number of children tested can be at least partially attributed to Medicaid requirements.  The total number of children tested increased from 73,643 in 1998 to 151,867 in 2011. Most of this increase was due to children receiving Medicaid: in 1998, approximately 57 percent of the children tested were receiving Medicaid; in 2011, 76 percent were.

This chart shows the percentage of Michigan children under 6, of those who were tested, who had elevated blood lead levels over the past 14 years. As depicted in the orange line, nearly 10 percent of children tested had blood lead levels of at least 10 µg/dL in 1998. In 2011, less than 1 percent of children tested had levels of at least 10 µg/dL. The middle line (brown) represents more severe cases (at least 15 µg/dL) and the red line represents the most severe (at least 20 µg/dL). The decline in lead poisoning cases among all three categories can be attributed, directly and indirectly, to increases in testing among high risk children, increases in vacancy among the oldest, most dangerous and hazardous housing stock, and targeted lead poisoning prevention and case management.

47 Responses to “Lead poisoning and the City of Detroit”

  1. david deangelo verdopple Deine dates Says:

    Hello, yes this article is in fact pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it
    on the topic of blogging. thanks.

  2. Http://Blogs.Albawaba.Com/Cathleenco/115529/2013/04/18/638184-Como-Curar-Hemorroides-De-Manera-Natural Says:

    This is a topic that is near to my heart.
    .. Take care! Exactly where are your contact details
    though?

  3. Sixpack Says:

    I was suggested this website through my cousin. I am not certain whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such exact about my
    trouble. You’re incredible! Thanks!

  4. chatroulette Says:

    We absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content for you?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome blog!

  5. Abnehm LöSung Says:

    I’m not sure why but this web site is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if
    the problem still exists.

  6. Lou Says:

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came
    to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to enhance my web site!
    I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  7. 7:18 AM Says:

    I enjoy reading an article that will make men and
    women think. Also, thanks for permitting me to comment!

  8. geschenk zur taufe Says:

    Fantastic site you have here but I was curious
    if you knew of any community forums that
    cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get comments from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Appreciate it!

  9. forum für die abnehm lösung Says:

    It’s hard to find well-informed people on this topic, but you seem like you know what you’re talking
    about! Thanks

  10. HäMorrhoiden Says:

    Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was
    super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog
    writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for rookie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  11. http://Dorazcit.Bravejournal.com Says:

    of course like your website however you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts.

    Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it
    very troublesome to inform the reality on the other
    hand I will certainly come back again.

  12. Hämoriden Says:

    What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & help other customers like its aided me. Great job.

  13. Elmo Says:

    Hi, its pleasant post regarding media print, we all be aware
    of media is a impressive source of facts.

  14. Abnehmen am Bauch Says:

    I like reading a post that can make men and women think.
    Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  15. linked website Says:

    Article writing is also a excitement, if you be familiar with
    then you can write or else it is difficult to write.

  16. www.dailystrength.org Says:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you
    wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit,
    but other than that, this is great blog. An excellent read.
    I will certainly be back.

  17. Taufgeschenke Says:

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would
    cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100%
    positive. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers

  18. hemorroides Says:

    Appreciating the commitment you put into your site and detailed information
    you offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t
    the same out of date rehashed information.
    Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  19. Rosita Says:

    Hey there are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you need any coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be
    really appreciated!

  20. nagelpilz Says:

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you may be a great author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will
    come back down the road. I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have a nice holiday weekend!

  21. Skye Says:

    My brother recommended I may like this website.

    He was once totally right. This put up truly made my day. You can not believe just how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

  22. 3:03 AM Says:

    Hi, yes this paragraph is really nice and I have learned lot of things from it on the topic
    of blogging. thanks.

  23. chatroulete Says:

    I hardly comment, however after reading through a few of the remarks here Lead poisoning and the City of Detroit | Drawing Detroit.
    I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s okay. Is it only me or do a few of the remarks appear as if they are coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on other online sites, I would like to keep up with you. Would you list of every one of your public sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  24. 1:38 PM Says:

    Great beat ! I would like to apprentice even as you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I were tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast offered brilliant
    transparent concept

  25. chatroulette Says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your
    webpage? My website is in the very same niche as yours and my
    visitors would definitely benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Appreciate it!

  26. nagelpilz-killer.de Says:

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my
    comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing
    all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say excellent blog!

  27. verdopple deine Dates Says:

    Wow! In the end I got a website from where I be able to
    genuinely get helpful information regarding my study and knowledge.

  28. click the next web page Says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about esoteric.
    Regards

  29. hämorrhoiden hausmittel Says:

    hämorrhoiden symptome
    obviously like your web site however you have to take a look at the spelling on several of your posts.
    Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very troublesome to tell the truth however I will certainly come back again.

  30. Site de rencontre webcam entierement gratuit Says:

    I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for you personally? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome site!

  31. gta v money hack Says:

    We are a gaggle of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site offered us with valuable info to work on.
    You have done a formidable process and our entire neighborhood shall be grateful to you.

  32. http://youtube.com/ Says:

    You have superb stuff these.

  33. Angie Says:

    Individuals respond safer to private ideas and friendly overtures.

    You will find there is no scarcity of “SEO experts” willing to consider your cash.

  34. 度あり ヴァージンクォーター Says:

    今のアイドル見てて痛いと思うのはナチュラリストを追求しすぎるからなんだよ チャラいことを否定したいのか無個性なことを否定したいのかワカラン
    勧告製品買う時点で間違ってることに気付かないのは何故だ カラコンなんて元々必要ない、どこかの糞業者が勝手にステマして売ってるだけだろ
    ウチはミニスカート+生足で長年営業やっている女がいるんだが。 日本のメーカーが国内で承認とって、韓国の工場で生産してるのが良いよ コンプレックスだからカラコンしてるんだろ

  35. Gap Coupons Says:

    Wow, awesome weblog format! How lengthy have you been running a blog for?

    you made running a blog look easy. The full glance
    of your site is excellent, let alone the content!

  36. Donald Says:

    In show business, they say you’re only as good as the last thing you made.
    This encourages even the most successful of the lot to
    keep shooting for just one more big hit – and go to your last penny if need be, according to South Salem resident Larry Prockter.
    He can speak from personal experience because when the stock market went
    belly up in 1987 so did he and all the interest
    (and funding) for what proved to be the last thing he did in television.
    “I said to myself, I’ve got to go get a job,” he remembers.
    So with an ad in the Pennysaver looking for someone to make toys for the disabled children began a new life for him and his wife Colleen.

    Use the vinegar solution and a white cloth to wipe the outer surface of the coffee maker and the heating element.

    Allow the coffee maker to stand in the vinegar banner maker and water solution for at least minutes.
    Doing so will effectively dissolve the hard deposited particles from the corners of the
    coffee maker.

    Until then you ought to actually check out this online beat maker cause it might be precisely what
    your looking for. And you can find certain advantages to
    making use of beat making software over buying expensive home beat creating equipment.

    Braun coffee makers are excellent coffee makers that you are
    sure to enjoy. Created by the well known Braun
    company, they are well known for excellence and many customers have enjoyed the coffee that is made by these machines.
    They are also well known for offering great coffee at a price that you can afford as well.

    Banner ads are traceable. Have you ever thought whether people actually read your newspaper advertisement?
    Well with a banner ad you will actually know if people read it or not.
    You will not only see how many times a page was viewed but you
    will also get to know other customer response stats such as click through rates.

  37. cort.as Says:

    そんな奴らが今常識人ぶって教育熱心(笑)ママやってるから笑える 正直 どっちかっていうと黒コンカラコンを着用する事により
    んじゃ、俺はモッコリパンツで対抗する ともちんこと板野友美 “日本、ピンチ” ゆとり世代、大学生になるも4人に1人が「平均」理解できず
    デカデカと書いてあったわ。大阪wとは思ったけど

  38. Cases of Lead Posioning in Detroit 2011 | DETROITography Says:

    […] Annalie Campos at the WSU Center for Urban Studies created this map based on 2011 lead poisoning incidence. […]

  39. http://cort.as Says:

    Fantastic site you have here but I was curious about if
    you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked about in this article?

    I’d really like to be a part of community where I can
    get suggestions from other experienced people that share the same interest.

    If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  40. here Says:

    You can watch it for free which has a slower connection but,
    if you need fast, uninterrupted news like I do, the nominal $4.
    Best coming from all, you don’t need to hire an expensive Public Relations firm to complete it for you.

    Make sure to utilize powder to reduce each of the shine, but do
    not overdo the make through to men given it will appear irregular.
    This may be the language spoken and understood with the majority
    of Indian whichever part of the country they could possibly be situated in.

  41. bit.ly Says:

    The Qnet business just isn’t for those seeking an easy way out and
    it just isn’t a ‘get rich quick scheme’. He graduated in the New
    England College of Optometry in Boston.

  42. Carlota Says:

    Hello, I would like to subscribe for this website to get newest updates, thus where
    can i do it please help out.

  43. 結婚挨拶状テンプレート Says:

    ハリコのケーキ入刀だけで5万とか8万とか、手作りのケーキは15万とか20万とか、もう暴力団も真っ青のチョーウルトラボッタクリ.
    タバコは絶対に嫌なんですよと返事しようかと思ったけど .

    結婚挨拶 手土産 渡し方
    疲れた!でも元気!今日は気分爽快♪新たな出発!素敵な方探します♪ .
    今まで見てきた中では、何故か埼玉県人が3万200円って人が居たけど、200円って何? .

    会費制にして、一万会費にしろ。流行ってるらしいぞ。 .

    食べ物が全然足りないって言ったら「あんたは披露宴で食べたでしょ!」と .

  44. Jule A. Carvin Says:

    My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking over
    your web page repeatedly.

  45. Estrella T. Harding Says:

    Hi there colleagues, nice piece of writing and pleasant urging commented here, I am in fact enjoying by
    these.

  46. dogs hartz ultraguard Says:

    Wow! Finally I got a weblog from where I be capable of genuinely obtain valuable
    information regarding my study and knowledge.

  47. limousine driver Says:

    You are so interesting! I do not think I’ve truly read through anything like this
    before. So good to find another person with original thoughts on this subject.
    Really.. thank you for starting this up. This web
    site is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with a little originality!

Leave a Reply

